STAR TREK RE-VISITED


 

The one & only: Mr Spock

The one & only: Mr Spock

I know I’m way too old and sensible to be watching re-runs of Star Trek (Series 3) but I thought: why not? Just for fun while my eyes are playing up. (Recently I’ve had to curtail my reading – sigh).

So far I‘ve watched two episodes and I’m stunned at just how bad they are  – the plots are laughable; the acting is terrible; the dialogue is even worse; the make-up is truly dreadful; and the sets are visibly ply-wood. And yet, at the time, during the late 60s/mid-70s we watched eagerly, dying for the next episode.  If it’s proved one thing it’s that we’ve become so accustomed to very sophisticated special effects and techno wizardry, that the fore-runners in the genre  – by comparison 40 years on – come off a very poor tenth best. Sorry, Mr Spock, but logic tells me so.

I’ll probably watch a few more episodes. Because I’m an avid fan of The Big Bang Theory, which has constant erudite references to the series, I’ll press on, going where no man has gone before ….. wait for me, Sheldon Cooper!

3 Comments

Filed under TV SHOWS

3 responses to “STAR TREK RE-VISITED

  1. I know what you mean, Alison – I cringe too, when I watch some of the episodes now. And yet, for its time, it was pretty cutting edge, and like you, I too was on the edge of my seat, eagerly awaiting each week’s episode! ;-)

    Like

  2. I have no idea why but my 28 year old son and his girlfriend LOVE Star Trek! And they are internet, computer graphic, computer game savvy … I can’t watch at all!

    Like

  3. birdsnest@telkomsa.net

    Hi A. Such a tru blog! Modern tech makes us laugh at what we LOVED before. So tru!
    Sorry your eyes playing up! Mine too. Scary stuff and I’m only just 60. Ah well c’est la vie! Hugs to you fir a lovely day ahead. Judy B
    Sent from my BlackBerry®

    Like

Leave a Reply

