A YEAR IN READING – 2012 – BEST/WORST etc


Cover of "Reading Like a Writer: A Guide ...

Cover via Amazon

BEST READS OF 2012 – Fiction

  • The Garden of Evening Mists –  Tan Twan Eng
  • The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry –  Rachel Joyce
  • The Glass Castle – Janette Walls
  • The Miracle Life of Edgar Mint –  Brady  Udall
  • Battle Hymn of the Tiger MotherAmy Chua
  • Kafka on the Shore Haruki Murakami
  • Sexing the Cherry – Jeanette Winterson
  • The Cat’s Table –  Michael Ondaatjie
  • My Brother’s Book – Jo-Anne Richards
  • Pops and the Nearly dead –  Edyth Bulbring

 

Non-Fiction

SURPRISINGLY ENJOYAB LE

  • Restoration –  Rose Tremain
  • 29 Gifts – Cami Walker
  • A Wild Herb Soup – Life of a French Countrywoman, by Emilie Carles

MOST DISAPPOINTING READS OF 2012

  • When Hoopoe Went to Heaven – Gail Goodwin
  • Lightning Rods –   Helen de Witt

JUST AWFUL

Amrita –  Banana Yamamoto

The Finkler Question – Howard Jacobsen

WHAT POSSESSED ME TO BUY THIS? ? From Elvish to Klingon – Michael Adams

Cover of "Kafka on the Shore"

Cover of Kafka on the Shore

5 Comments

Filed under BOOK REVIEWS

5 responses to “A YEAR IN READING – 2012 – BEST/WORST etc

  1. I loved Rachel Joyce’s The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry. It’s one of my favorite reads this year, too. I’ll have to check out the others on your list. I haven’t read Amy Chua’s Battle Hymn, which I thought was a memoir, but I find it intriguing because of the similiarities to my own upbringing (which I don’t think was quite as strict).

    Like

    • Well, I suppose Battle Hymn could be considered a memoir; now that I think of it, am not sure how to categorize the book. But however you choose to categorize, its a hell of a story. I also hadf a strict upbringing, but this wasw due to draconian style boarding schools – back in the Olden Days.

      Like

      • Mine was due to my mother’s South Asian cultural background. She was a loving parent (and still is!), but boy was she strict: no dating, a limited set of “worthy” colleges, a limited set of “appropriate” jobs, etc. Now that I’m an adult, she has mellowed out a lot. There are aspects of her parenting style that I’ve incorporated into my own, but I am quite different.

        Like

  2. I love your Top Ten Categories! Will look into some of these books next year! Happy Holidays!

    Like

Leave a Reply

