MY 2013 READING YEAR


Another year marching towards 31 December. A trail of interesting books behind me. I’m not adding comments or explanations – I think the category headings speak for themselves. I’m sure many people will disagree with my choices, so please leave a comment. I’d love to hear from you.  Here are my nominations for:

THE NOT-TO-BE-MISSED BOOK OF 2013:

The End of Your Life Book Club by Will Schalbe

TEN of my  BEST READS – 2013  (in no particular order)

The 100 Year Old Man who Climbed out of the Window and disappeared  – Jonas Jonasson

Flashback Hotel – Ivan Vladislavic

Gone Girl – Gillian Flynn

The Elegance of the Hedgehog – Muriel Barbery

Ex Libris – Anne Fadiman

Angelmaker – Nick Harkaway

Mr Penumbra’s 24 hour Book Store – Robin Sloan

The Hero’s Walk – Anita Rau Badami

A Widow’s Story – Joyce Carol Oates

My Name is Asher Lev – Chaim Potok

BEST FOREIGN READ OF 2013:  Lost Luggage by Jordi Punti – translated from Spanish

MOST UNUSUAL READ 2013:

The Golem & the Djinni – Helene Wecker

CHALLENGING READS 2013:

We Need New Names – NoViolet Bulawayo

Ancient Light – John Banville

Invisible Furies – Michiel Heyns

In the Beginning – Chaim Potok

THE POPULAR BOOK THAT I COULDN’T READ

Wool – Hugh Howey

1 Comment

Filed under BOOK REVIEWS, BOOK STATISTICS

One response to “MY 2013 READING YEAR

  1. Quite a few ideas to pick from. Thanks

    Like

Leave a Reply

