WHERE DOES THE TIME GO ? 


 

It’s really quite ridiculous. Here I am, retired, and finding myself without a second to even sneeze. Busy, busy, busy.

Friends phone me up to arrange a coffee date, and we find ourselves one or two weeks hence  into our diaries … because its ten days before I have a free slot – crazy! Anybody would think I was a top flight executive. Any day now I’ll need a Social Secretary to manage my diary.

People often say “You keep yourself so busy!” either in tones of admiration or condemnation (delete inapplicable).  Not so. I’m not deliberately  trying to keep busy.  It’s just that there are so many interesting things to do or see. Plus there are my weekly addictive sessions with Mah Jongg and Scrabble. Not giving those up!

And then there’s the theory that as you age, time speeds up in an inverse ration to your age – or something – I’ve never grasped that. I know I should, but I haven’t.  I remember, when I was about 5 or 6 years old, how it took FOREVER for Christmas and your birthday to come around again, whereas nowadays I’m clutching my forehead and gasping, only another 62 days until Christmas – where did the year go??   Never mind the Christmas juggernaut rolling towards us – lately I wake up in the morning, and find that its Friday again,! Dammit, we just had  Friday! Where on earth did the week get to?

I’m definitely running out of time.

Recently a psychic told me I have another 20 years left to me before I depart this mortal plane. Yes, well, no fine … On the one hand I was immensely cheered because it means I now have time to finish my Fantasy novels. And it may take that long. I felt as if I’d been given a gift: another twenty years! Wow!  But on the bad days, it doesn’t seem like such a bonanza.

There’s an old saying “Man proposes, God disposes”. Perhaps the best thing to do is live each day as best we can. An old song had the line  yesterday is history, tomorrow still a mystery  and all we really have is NOW, just this moment, as the Buddhists would say. And this moment. And this moment.  That old American hippie, Ram Dass, once wrote a book titled “Be Here Now”. Pretty good advice.

 

 

7 Comments

Filed under PRESENT & FUTURE, SOCIAL COMMENT

7 responses to “WHERE DOES THE TIME GO ? 

  1. Oh, Alison, I so hear your cry! have been experiencing the same thing; the older I get, the faster time seems to speed by, and my to-do lists are just not shrinking.

    Like

  2. Love your writing and your thoughts, Alison! Brilliant!

    Take your time, you do it very well.

    See you soon, Sue X

    A day without laughter is, like, night.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for kind words, always good to receive encouragement. And ho-ho for the pun!!

    Like

  4. Hi Alison – I always seem to be saying exactly what you said! Thank you for echoing my sentiments!! But as I always say ‘Hey we’re having FUN in our rushed retirement years”

    Liked by 1 person

  5. And having fun can’t be a bad thing – hey ?

    Like

  6. As the old hymn says, live each day as though it were your last. Or carpe diem.

    Like

Leave a Reply

