MY 2014 READING YEAR


imagesCAAXWIHW

2014 has not been a good Reading Year for me – I got off to a bad start with eyesight problems, which weren’t resolved until mid-May, so  I’ve not read as many books as usual. My list shows books which I read during 2014, and  is a mixture of Old & New. Some of them were published way, way before 2014; some of them in the late 1990s in fact, but I only had the pleasure of discovering them this year. One of my less obvious categories is ‘Books About Books’ : I’m hooked on books, and love reading  books about reading and books. We all have our quirks.

I hope  my list will introduce some new  suggestions for your own reading .

Best Book of 2014

The 40 Rules of Love – Elif Shafak

Not to be missed book : 2014

The Buddha in the Attic – Julie Otsuka

Most Original Book of 2014

We Are all Completely Beside Ourselves – Karen Joy Fowler

Books About Books:2014

Tolstoy and the Purple Chair – Nina Sankovitch

Funniest Book: 2014

Nature Girl – Carl Hiaasen

Most Challenging Read of 2014

Living by Fiction – Annie Dillard

Best Gothic Novel : 2014

Marina – Carlos Ruiz Zafon

Best Non-Fiction : 2014

12 Patients (Life & Death at Bellevue Hospital) – Dr E  Manheimer

Best Travel Book : 2014

The Way of Stars & Stones – Wilna Wilkinson

Best short stories: 2014

The Barnum Museum – Steven Millhauser

Best Crime 2014

Diamond Dove – Adrian Hyland

Great Reads (Novels): 2014

The Bone Clocks – David Mitchell

Big Brother – Lionel Shriver

The Rosie Project – Graeme Simision

The World We Found – Thrirty Umnigar

Epic Fail/unreadable  2014

The Infatuation – Javier Marias

Swann’s Way – Marcel Proust

 

5 Comments

Filed under BOOK REVIEWS, BOOK STATISTICS

5 responses to “MY 2014 READING YEAR

  1. Great list, Alison. You certainly seem to have made up for lost time.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. birdsnest@telkomsa.net

    Hi A. Thank you for the list of books. Love it. Shall now tackle one by one as u have said. Worst one. Not. Shall trust your judgement.
    Have a magic season and for me a Blessed Christmas and peace love and happiness wished for all for 2015.

    Huge HUG. Judy Bird
    Sent from my BlackBerry®

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love the way you classified the books you read!! I I’m going to check some of these out next year!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Apart from helping me to sort out my choices, the classifications give my readers some clue as to genre – frequently titles don’t convey much – or they are kinda arbitrary. Happy reading in 2015!

    Like

Leave a Reply

