FACING UP TO FACEBOOK


 

 

 

Facebook: you either love it or hate it. There doesn’t seem to be any middle ground.  Youngsters are embryonically attached to it, parents peer at their  kids’ friends and activities, while  the elderly regard it with suspicion or disdain. Take your pick.

Personally, I find it very useful . I like Facebook. It’s mighty useful, to keep in touch with far-flung friends and family, not to mention displaying your photos, and to share the odd article, or joke, or WordPress blog, or – even – dare I admit to this: LOL Cats.  Ahem.  Can’t resist anything kitty related. None of us are perfect, so get over it.

But my approach to Facebook is stringent. I set the timer for ten minutes – and that’s it.  When I log in, I pay attention to the first ten items on the news feed page, and click ‘like’ or make a comment. I’ve picked up useful household hints on the Newsfeed page, plus info on crime in my area. Plus more positive things like triumphs  and travels  in  my friends’ lives that I otherwise wouldn’t have known about.

Then I whizz over to my personal page info bar at the top of the page, click on the little globe, up pop the notifications and I click on the blue tag at the bottom ‘See all’ . This gives you a compressed printed list  – no pics or text – which you can quickly scan to see if there’s anything that you want/need to look at..

And then you’re done! Otherwise Facebook can gobble up hours of precious time. We both know this, so no further discussion necessary.

And so ends my three part series on taming the electronic tentacles.

Next week I have a couple of juicy book reviews for you. No, not 50 Shades of Grey. I haven’t read it, don’t intend to, not because of the explicit content, but because it’s badly written.

7 Comments

Filed under COMPUTERS

7 responses to “FACING UP TO FACEBOOK

  1. Bravo Alison! i check in two or three times a day, zoom through newsfeed at the rate of knots, liking if I feel the urge, then a little more carefully through notifications. I admit to the world: I would miss FB terribly if it were to vanish.

    Like

  2. Judy Bird

    Well said Alison. Agree have picked up many good recipes and quotes from FB. As for 50 shades. Thought I was alone out there for same reason. No inclination to read it. Not a story as in “story” and as you said probably really badly written.

    Like

  3. Oh come on…we would love your take on 50 Shades…if you can get past the atrocious writing.

    Like

  4. This is great advice! One can easily become lost on FB!

    Like

Leave a Reply

