BOOK REVIEWS FROM MY TO- BE- READ PILE


 

 

I’m making an attempt to read at least one book per month from my TBR pile, which keeps growing, like an alien fungus, in the recesses of my cupboard. I hide my book stash in there, because I’m embarrassed to own up to the number of books I have bought (no wonder I’m always broke) and the number of books I haven’t yet read.  Anyway, here are a couple of reviews generated from my recent foray into the depths of the cupboard:

THE JOB …by Irene  Dischke  : a short little book,  (151 pages ) a curious story about a Kurdish assassin contracted to kill the family of a Turkish businessman living in New York City.  A brilliant portrait of a vain and egotistical man; back in Istanbul he owns 32 pairs of shoes, and – the hitman   –  he’s quite a dandy, preoccupied with growing his moustache in specific styles and shapes; back in Istanbul he wears bespoke suits. Gradually he morphs into someone else entirely by the end of the tale. Certainly not r.o.t.m.*; an unusual story of a hit gone wrong –  depending on your perspective.  Great insight into the psychology of Kurdish men. Based on this book, I hope I never meet one.

*r.o.t.m. = run of the mill

 

THE LAST SONG OF DUSK – Siddharth  Dhanvant Shangvi.  I bought this book on a closing down sale when Bargain Books Parklands moved their store – I can’t resist a bargain, and I enjoy Indian novels. The blurb on the back cover was wildly over-stated – no way can this debut novel be compared to Salman Rushdie, Kiran Desai or Hari Kunzru’s respective debuts. It’s uneven, swerving between breathless purple passages to a cosmically flavoured ending, which is so different in tone and language that I wonder if his editor (or a ghost writer) wrote it? The book won the 2004 Betty Trask Prize. All I can say is if this novel won the prize, then I’m glad I didn’t  have to read the rest of the entries !

Ah well, you win some, and you lose some. As you can see, my TBR pile is full of surprises. Watch this space.

3 Comments

Filed under BOOK REVIEWS

3 responses to “BOOK REVIEWS FROM MY TO- BE- READ PILE

  1. I have to rehabilitate the Kurds here. We had two Iraqi Kurds as students at Sussex and they were a delight. Another of our graduates, military man, is currently advisor to the Kurdistan Interior Minister and works in Erbil. Turkish Kurds may be different: they’ve suffered at the hands of the Turks for a long time and this may, in part, account for the way they are.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am most definitely watching this space, Alison! More please. By the way, on the subject of books, when our boat went down she took with her the 30 favourite books I had chosen to take with me on our fateful voyage. I am gradually replacing them from Amazon. Yesterday one of my longlost ‘friends’ arrived: The Image Men by J B Priestly. Amazing how happy this has made me!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You have a to-be-read pile, I have to-be-read *shelves* and *boxes*, Alison… Daunting prospects. Well done on reading two of yours! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

