(JAP) BOOKMARKS


 

(Just a Paragraph: when I’m short of time and/or inspiration, I keep my blog ticking over with ‘just a paragraph; random thoughts, reflections, comments, ideas … little snippets)

Recently I found a till-slip doing duty as a bookmark inside a second-hand book. The slip was written in Portuguese and told me the book had been sold by the Sodiler Livraria on the 23rd June, 2003. Presumably in Brazil, because that’s where the website led me – to a Brazilian bookstore. How about that, for a well travelled book? I would love to know how this particular book landed up in a box of donated books, in Cape Town, South Africa. Seeing the book in which it was lodged was The Talented Mr Ripley by Patricia Highsmith, I suppose I should not be unduly surprised – Mr Ripley being a man of surprises, mystery, illusion and delusions.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under BOOK STATISTICS

Leave a Reply

