CHOCOLATE IS THE ANSWER


index

(Just a Paragraph:  when I’m short of time and/or inspiration, I keep my blog ticking over with ‘just a paragraph’; random thoughts, reflections, comments, ideas … little snippets)

2016 will go down as the Year I Made Cocoa. On a chilly, wet, grey day, nothing beats a cup of hot cocoa. Not your instant stuff. Proper cocoa, that comes out of the tin in a rich brown fine powder, that has to be carefully sprinkled into hot milk, and has to be stirred briskly to mix. Then boiling water is added, followed perhaps by a healthy dollop of tinned Ideal Milk – I adore   Ideal Milk, it’s one of my many weaknesses. I think it stems from childhood, when my Mum made jelly, and whipped a tin of Ideal milk into the jelly, to produce a divine, fluffy, light as air pudding – what a treat that was. But a summer treat, that’s for sure. Right now it’s mid-winter in Cape Town and because we live in a Mediterranean type climate, our winters are mild and wet.  After our dreadful El Nino induced drought, the wet is very welcome, but it’s chilly and damp, so hot cocoa fits right in.  As my fridge magnet sagely observes: Chocolate is the answer! Who cares about the question?

 

3 Comments

Filed under PRESENT & FUTURE

3 responses to “CHOCOLATE IS THE ANSWER

  1. I like your philosophy!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I remember jelly with Ideal Milk from my Kenyan days! And yes, chocolate is the answer to many of lifes’ deeper philosophical questions!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. How true! Chocolate – and cocoa – is always the answer! As long as it’s dark and bitter chocolate, free from all the extra additives… 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

