SPARKING JOY OR SHOULD IT BE TERROR ?


index

The Japanese guru of Tidying Up, petite little Marie Kondo,  titled her best seller Spark Joy: an Illustrated guide to the Japanese Art of Tidying. And her minimalist approach to possessions, homes,  and hoarding, has been a huge hit.

Look: we all know we have way too much STUFF. You know: STUFF. The treasures, the trash, the bargains, the forgotten items that clog our cupboards, gum up our garages, and – in some cases of extreme hoarding – actually bury us under its toppling mountains.

She has a no-nonsense, no holds barred approach to STUFF. She’s drawn up a list. Of course she has. It’s the official Kondo battle-plan.

First you blitz your clothes. I had a ruthless kamikaze raid on my clothes and heaved bags of clothes to charity with a few items to friends – the nearly new and the pretty good. The silk dressing gown in the hideous  swirling design of orange and turquoise, which I’d kept for over 20 years for sentimental reasons and worn twice. What a relief to toss it!  Actually it felt good to say goodbye to old, worn garments.

Next on the list – oh dear, shudder, tremble: Books. I have a stash of To Be Read books secreted in my built-in cupboard, away from public gaze. The pile is so enormous, I’m embarrassed to own it publicly. It’s composed mainly of sale bargains – I haunt book sale tables and seldom come away without at one book tucked into my bag. And then there’s the awful temptation of on-line book buying. To compound matters, the crafty devils now offer free door-to-door delivery … irresistible.

Somehow I forced myself to dive into the depths and I was pretty good.  I didn’t count my rejects, but it’s probably around 20 books. Not bad for a bookaholic.

What I need now is a good, stiff drink. Never mind that I don’t drink alcohol. I deserve one. I’ve had enough Kondo-ing for one day – no, for at least a month.

It’ll have to be a pot of strong coffee and half an hour with a book I retrieved from the TBR pile.  I’ve earned it!

 

 

 

 

 

3 Comments

Filed under HUMOUR, PRESENT & FUTURE, SOCIAL COMMENT

3 responses to “SPARKING JOY OR SHOULD IT BE TERROR ?

  1. Ah Alison you are an inspiration to us all!

    Like

  2. Ahahahahahaaa, you are one brave woman! Twenty-minus-one books – well done! Some years ago, I had to downscale from a two-bedroomed townhouse – with garage – to one room. It was traumatic and liberating at the same time. However, Ms Kondo would stand aghast at the current clutter, particularly the bookcase in the corner and the bookbox in the wardrobe…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It IS amazing how fast we accumulate ‘stuff’! After our retirement home sank mid Atlantic we arrived in England with just the clothes we were wearing at the rescue, our passports, important docs, and our cat (who topped the priority list). After five years here we have already, from nothing, begun to burden ourselves with ‘stuff’ we don’t really need. I think I’ll follow your lead, Alison!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

