MY 2016 READING YEAR


 I haven’t ticked as many books off my TBR list as I’d hoped, only 9 out of 12. More effort required  in 2017. And my  cataract op slowed me down somewhat, but this said, here are  the highlights  of my 2016 reading year.  Looking forward to your comments.

BEST READ OF THE YEAR

The Tsar of Love and Techno – Anthony Marra 

BEST SOUTH AFRICAN NOVEL

Recipes for Love & Murder – Sally Andrew 

BEST TRAVEL BOOK

Lost on Planet China – J. Maarten Troost 

BEST CLASSIC

Pale Fire – Vladimir Nabokov 

BEST SUSPENSE

The Martian – Andy Weir 

BEST BIOGRAPHY

The Invention of Nature – Andrea Wulf 

 BEST WAR MEMOIR/HISTORY

The Call of the  Litany Bird – Sue Gibbs

(Surviving the Rhodesian Bush War)

 

BEST TRANSLATED NOVEL

From the Mouth of the Whale  – Sjon

BEST SPECULATIVE FICTION

Station Eleven – Emily Mandel 

BEST SHORT STORIES

Brief Encounters with Che Guevarra – Ben Fountain

FUNNIEST NOVEL

A  Match for Dr Koekentapp – Allan Kaye

 

MOST UNUSUAL CRIME NOVEL

The Yiddish Policeman’s Union – Michael Chabon

MOST UNUSUAL MEMOIR

The Undertaker’s Daughter – Kate Mayfield

MOST UNUSUAL AUTOBIOGRAPHY

South of Nirvana – Sue Randall

 

TERRIFIC READS

Between the Woods & the Water – Patrick Leigh Fermor  (beautiful prose)

Fates and Furies – Lauren Groff  (modern life & marriage)

The Penguin Lessons – Tom Michell (fresh & quirky)

Unaccompanied Women – June Juska  (memoir)

The Shaman in Stilettoes – Anna Hunt (memoir)

The Mouseproof Kitchen –  Saira Shah  (contemporary novel)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

7 Comments

Filed under BOOK REVIEWS, BOOK STATISTICS

7 responses to “MY 2016 READING YEAR

  1. Looks like I missed all of your favorite books! Back to the TBR list for additions! I especially like the way you characterized the books you listed.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lindsvee

    ‘Best Speculative Fiction’? That’s a new one for me – shall investigate!

    Like

  3. Linda Ril

    Hi Alison, I so look forward to your reading list and try to source the books. If you have any you would like to sell, please contact me. Linda Riley. Happy Christmas and a great New Year.

    On Sun, Dec 11, 2016 at 7:37 AM, despatchesfromtimbuktu wrote:

    > alison41 posted: ” I haven’t ticked as many books off my TBR list as I’d > hoped, only 9 out of 12. More effort required in 2017. And my cataract op > slowed me down somewhat, but this said, here are the highlights of my > 2016 reading year. Looking forward to your comments” >

    Like

  4. Zonie

    Thanks so helpful. I’m filing the list. Can I also have the list of the books available at the library? Thanks.

    Like

Leave a Reply

