*A PASSION FOR PISTACHIOS


I’m beginning to think I should abandon my passion for pistachios. I have aching fingertips, and a bruised thumb. Why? you ask.  Have you ever tried shelling a packet of pistachios? They’re  lively little so-and-so’s. They skid, slip, fly, ricochet – and defiantly remain snugly inside their impregnable  nutshells. Armed with my new nutcrackers, a Christmas gift which actually materialised from my 2015 Xmas Wish List, I inserted a nut into the device’s jaws. No go. The nut was too small to grip. I tried another, bigger nut. Whee! It was airborne. Several nuts hid under the fridge. Of course they did – it’s a place you can’t reach. In the end I resorted to bashing the little beasts with the device, forget about the scientific open jaws and crack method. Hence the bruised thumb.  Whoever coined the term “a hard nut to crack” must also have done battle with a packet of pistachios, and found it equally frustrating.

* (Just a Paragraph:  when I’m short of time and/or inspiration, I keep my blog ticking over with ‘just a paragraph; random thoughts, reflections, comments, ideas … little snippets)

4 Comments

Filed under FOOD, HUMOUR

4 responses to “*A PASSION FOR PISTACHIOS

  1. Zonie Williams

    Amen!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Eileen Turner

    Hi, Alison

    Loved this. I no longer bother with pistachios for the same reasons. Try peanuts, which are not so appealing but easier to open. Lots of love Eileen xx

    Eileen Turner E-mail: eileen.eileenturner.turner@gmail.com

    Call Send SMS Add to Skype You’ll need Skype CreditFree via Skype

    On 25 January 2016 at 07:21, despatchesfromtimbuktu wrote:

    > alison41 posted: ” I’m beginning to think I should abandon my passion for > pistachios. I have aching fingertips, and a bruised thumb. Why? you ask. > Have you ever tried shelling a packet of pistachios? They’re lively little > so-and-so’s. They skid, slip, fly, ricochet – an” >

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Here many types of nuts are available without shells. I love pistachios too!

    Like

  4. Love pistachios but what a pain to shell them!

    Like

Leave a comment